Try it for $23.95, plus free shipping.

Custom Hair Color Set Reviews

3.4 out of 5 (452 ratings)

283 Client Reviews

Sort by:

Posted by: Zico
May 26, 2022

First Time

Posted by: Zico
May 26, 2022

Hi, I just wanted to leave a review for the simple reason, AMAZING, this is the first time I have have ever dyed my beard and hair, firstly what a simple process then to the matching of my personal hair colour is absolutely spot on, I can’t complain, I was very apprehensive at first, as I did not not how the result would turn out, but this is simply the best.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: William Glenn G.
May 18, 2022

Right blend.

Posted by: William Glenn G.
May 18, 2022

My strong growth hair was a mass of salt n pepper grey i tried to get my natural colour of very dark brown back but it was a very obvious change and got mixed views so I told my colourist and she recommended a Hazel brown I was anxious because my hair was never that shade however I trusted her expertise and it paid off because it blended all my greys into one shade of brown a little lighter than my dark brown. It looks so natural I even put some in my beard the result was much better than I expected. Thank you Colorsmith and special thanks to my expert colourist

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: Bruan
March 1, 2022

Erm, this actually works!

Posted by: Bruan
March 1, 2022

As a former ginger, the hair on my head has now turned more of a strawberry blond with age which is actually quite cool. My beard on the other hand is the problem. Stubborn large patches of white, which not even permanent colour can cover over. Years of Just for Men and similar have turned beard dying into the equivalent of Russian roulette. No rhyme or reason to the colour, usually too dark with obvious cool tones that look fake. To be honest, I wasn't holding out much hope for Colorsmith to work. It looked instantly dark after applying, always a warning sign with Just for Men, and the 30min development time only added to my fear. After rinsing off in the shower though the results were amazing! I am so impressed. Warm, natural tones that blend perfectly with my head hair. Not a solid covering either, so some grey still showing, not in patches, which only added to the natural finish. The colour isn't flat at all. I know 'multi-faceted' is a hair colour cliche, but in this case, it's actually true. I'm so impressed with this product and urge you to give it a try. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: Joel V.
February 4, 2021

Color is great but..

Posted by: Joel V.
February 4, 2021

I gave it 4 stars only because it dried my skin really badly to the point of flaking all over where I applied it, and also made it really itchy. The color looks very natural and I was surprised that it didn’t stain my skin like other brands I’ve used. I guess my skin is too sensitive to something in the formula, or I may be allergic to something in it that I’m yet not aware of.

22 of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: Natalie E.

Response From Our Experts

Posted by: Natalie E.

Joel - We’re truly sorry to hear that you may have experienced an allergic reaction that could have been caused by our hair color. In rare cases, one can develop sensitivity to hair color. In the future, we recommend performing a skin allergy test 48 hours before each hair color application. Instructions for the skin allergy test are included in our Product Safety & Usage guide with every hair color order. On behalf of the Colorsmith Family, we wish you a quick recovery.

Posted by: Ross M.
December 29, 2020

Almost nobody knew......

Posted by: Ross M.
December 29, 2020

Had used other box dyes before, and regretted it everytime! I have a indistinguishable hairline on my mustache (just below my nose) that became TOTALLY recognizable with those box dyes. Always looked monotone and,.literally, fake. At 56 im really starting to display my greys and am really salt and pepper if not totally salt in the facial hair department. Decided.to.try Colorsmith out as a last chance shot and was totally surprised! It looks totally natural! No mustache "hairline" this time. Just a natural.looking age.drop.of 10 years! My girlfriend, totally apprehensive at first loves it! Nobody noticed and only remarked that I somehow looked younger. Love this stuff! Customer for life!

18 of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: jimmy Z.
October 1, 2020

Great dye that does not stain the sculp

Posted by: jimmy Z.
October 1, 2020

Great coloring that is natural and leave no marks after the wash. I do really enjoy this product

11 of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: Myo W.
October 1, 2020

SO much better than all my previous box dye experience. Never going back!

Posted by: Myo W.
October 1, 2020

I never knew what hair dye could be until I tried Colorsmith, it's now my gold standard. I use to use Just for Men and that would always leave a noticeable dye line once my grays grew out. But now with Colorsmith, the dye blends into my hair and fades a lot more naturally. It's also so convenient to receive the dye delivered to my house, it's customized for my hair and I can contact a real colorist for help. Bye bye box dyes!

36 of 42 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: Tamer A.
October 6, 2020

Literally the best...

Posted by: Tamer A.
October 6, 2020

As someone who's used multiple coloring kits and products, the Colorsmith solution has been the most effective (and delightful) experience to date. Here's why: 1. Everything is custom to YOU. I was assigned a personal Colorist (thank you Genevieve!) along with items and instructions which even had my name on them. 2. It doesn't BURN your scalp or cause rashes like other products I've used. The Colorsmith solution had virtually no sensation on my scalp compared to other products. 3. There are no gimmicks. I was supplied with everything to get *truly* professional results from the comfort of my home. The blend perfectly matched my natural hair color (not too dark, not too light...just right at darkest brown). If you're looking for a custom hair coloring solution delivered straight to your door with fast, easy, and reliable results, I highly recommend!!

16 of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: Peter W.
December 23, 2020

Colorists that take the time to get it right.

Posted by: Peter W.
December 23, 2020

I’ve been using Colorsmith now since August of 2020 and I can say hand’s down this is the best color system I’ve ever used. It’s much more natural than salon results and the team works with you to get it right until your 100% satisfied. Not to mention I’ve saved hundreds of dollars avoiding frustrating salon experiences. Colorsmith is the best if you want a natural customized color that fits your specific needs!

20 of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: Brian
March 19, 2021

Even Better Than Imagined

Posted by: Brian
March 19, 2021

Pandemic boredom has had me doing things I never considered so the introductory trial offer I received from Colorsmith was met with a Well, why not? My beard had a lot of gray (white, actually) in it and was the most telling factor regarding my age. After explaining to my colorist what I wanted to accomplish and sending her a photo, I received my first kit in less than a week. The instructions and organization of the components made the preparation, application, and finishing processes incredibly simple, and the results were beyond anything I expected. Gone was a good deal of the white—replaced with a mix of natural silver-blond and reddish-copper that matches the rest of my beard and eyebrows (my head is shaved). It’s not so drastic that it’s obvious to others that I’ve colored it; the blend is just that perfect. I’m really happy with the ease of the process—and especially the results—so with two sessions behind me already, Colorsmith has become another part of my regular self-care routine.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: Natalie E.

Response From Our Experts

Posted by: Natalie E.

Brian - Thank you for the wonderful review. Everything our clients’ say is truly valued and we look forward to hearing from you in the future!