Try it for $23.95, plus free shipping.

Custom Hair Color Set Reviews

3.6 out of 5 (187 ratings)

124 Client Reviews

Sort by:

Posted by: Brian
March 19, 2021

Even Better Than Imagined

Posted by: Brian
March 19, 2021

Pandemic boredom has had me doing things I never considered so the introductory trial offer I received from Colorsmith was met with a Well, why not? My beard had a lot of gray (white, actually) in it and was the most telling factor regarding my age. After explaining to my colorist what I wanted to accomplish and sending her a photo, I received my first kit in less than a week. The instructions and organization of the components made the preparation, application, and finishing processes incredibly simple, and the results were beyond anything I expected. Gone was a good deal of the white—replaced with a mix of natural silver-blond and reddish-copper that matches the rest of my beard and eyebrows (my head is shaved). It’s not so drastic that it’s obvious to others that I’ve colored it; the blend is just that perfect. I’m really happy with the ease of the process—and especially the results—so with two sessions behind me already, Colorsmith has become another part of my regular self-care routine.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: Natalie E.

Response From Our Experts

Posted by: Natalie E.

Brian - Thank you for the wonderful review. Everything our clients’ say is truly valued and we look forward to hearing from you in the future!

Posted by: Fernando M.
April 29, 2021

Natural color match

Posted by: Fernando M.
April 29, 2021

Great product. My hair is almost all white. I wanted a dye to bring back my hair color to light brown, the way it once was, but leave some gray and look natural. Colorsmith did that and just take 10 minutes. Despite washing my hair daily, the color does not fade for many weeks. Price is reasonable for the quality of the product. Customer service is excellent, delivery is outstanding. Besides, I don't have to shop elsewhere, saving time.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: Jovanna J.

Response From Our Experts

Posted by: Jovanna J.

Fernando - Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us! We're glad our tools and resources have been of great help to you. We look forward to blending your next color soon!

Posted by: Joseph A.
March 16, 2021

Freakishly Good!

Posted by: Joseph A.
March 16, 2021

My wife and I were stunned by how accurate the color was compared to my natural hair. She, who pays $$$ for professional colorist work, could not believe this quality came in the mail. The only thing I would do differently would be to separate the beard dye from the hair kit, as I wasn't ready to dye my beard the same day as my hair. This is a Phenomenal Product!!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: Jovanna J.

Response From Our Experts

Posted by: Jovanna J.

Joseph - Thanks so much for your feedback! We are so very happy to hear that you are loving your customized Colorsmith color, your customized instructions, and your smooth results! We appreciate you sharing!

Posted by: Christian M.
May 4, 2021

Perfect color match

Posted by: Christian M.
May 4, 2021

Before I began losing color in my beard my hair was dark brown in color. My beard is salt and pepper, with more salt than pepper. While I was waiting for the 15 min for the dye to work it looked almost black and I was getting scared that the color would not look correct, but once I rinsed out the dye my beard looked great. I'm not going to lie, at first I thought my hair looked too dark, but I realized that I was so used to seeing a mostly gray beard that the initial shock of seeing color was what threw me off. The next day when I woke up I actually loved how my color came out. I still had some gray hairs throughout my beard and that's what I actually wanted. Next time I'm going to use less dye so I can actually have more grays in my beard. Most women love that salt and pepper look.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: Natalie E.

Response From Our Experts

Posted by: Natalie E.

Christian - Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us! We're glad our tools and resources have been of great help for you to reach your Hair Goals. We look forward to blending your next color soon!

Posted by: Chris D.
May 29, 2021

Awesome! Hesitant At First (Never Colored My Own Hair Before)

Posted by: Chris D.
May 29, 2021

As a 1st time hair colorer, I was very hesitant. After 36 years, it was time to let go of that manly pride for a bit and just color it. I have short hair, fade, lots of grays. It was time. I choose to cover most grays but not all as I still want my natural look. It was a very easy process. After the 1st time of doing this process, the next time will get easier and easier as you feel more comfortable. **Tip** I recommend when you start to put the die in your beard or hair, dab thick amounts, possibly layer after layer to the grey spots to cover it fully.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: Natalie E.

Response From Our Experts

Posted by: Natalie E.

Chris - We're so happy to hear that you're enjoying your custom Colorsmith color! We truly value your feedback and look forward to hearing from you again in the future.

Posted by: Joel V.
February 4, 2021

Color is great but..

Posted by: Joel V.
February 4, 2021

I gave it 4 stars only because it dried my skin really badly to the point of flaking all over where I applied it, and also made it really itchy. The color looks very natural and I was surprised that it didn’t stain my skin like other brands I’ve used. I guess my skin is too sensitive to something in the formula, or I may be allergic to something in it that I’m yet not aware of.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: Natalie E.

Response From Our Experts

Posted by: Natalie E.

Joel - We’re truly sorry to hear that you may have experienced an allergic reaction that could have been caused by our hair color. In rare cases, one can develop sensitivity to hair color. In the future, we recommend performing a skin allergy test 48 hours before each hair color application. Instructions for the skin allergy test are included in our Product Safety & Usage guide with every hair color order. On behalf of the Colorsmith Family, we wish you a quick recovery.

Posted by: Ross S.
December 29, 2020

Almost nobody knew......

Posted by: Ross S.
December 29, 2020

Had used other box dyes before, and regretted it everytime! I have a indistinguishable hairline on my mustache (just below my nose) that became TOTALLY recognizable with those box dyes. Always looked monotone and,.literally, fake. At 56 im really starting to display my greys and am really salt and pepper if not totally salt in the facial hair department. Decided.to.try Colorsmith out as a last chance shot and was totally surprised! It looks totally natural! No mustache "hairline" this time. Just a natural.looking age.drop.of 10 years! My girlfriend, totally apprehensive at first loves it! Nobody noticed and only remarked that I somehow looked younger. Love this stuff! Customer for life!

15 of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: Myo W.
October 1, 2020

SO much better than all my previous box dye experience. Never going back!

Posted by: Myo W.
October 1, 2020

I never knew what hair dye could be until I tried Colorsmith, it's now my gold standard. I use to use Just for Men and that would always leave a noticeable dye line once my grays grew out. But now with Colorsmith, the dye blends into my hair and fades a lot more naturally. It's also so convenient to receive the dye delivered to my house, it's customized for my hair and I can contact a real colorist for help. Bye bye box dyes!

35 of 41 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: jimmy Z.
October 1, 2020

Great dye that does not stain the sculp

Posted by: jimmy Z.
October 1, 2020

Great coloring that is natural and leave no marks after the wash. I do really enjoy this product

8 of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo
Posted by: Peter W.
December 23, 2020

Colorists that take the time to get it right.

Posted by: Peter W.
December 23, 2020

I’ve been using Colorsmith now since August of 2020 and I can say hand’s down this is the best color system I’ve ever used. It’s much more natural than salon results and the team works with you to get it right until your 100% satisfied. Not to mention I’ve saved hundreds of dollars avoiding frustrating salon experiences. Colorsmith is the best if you want a natural customized color that fits your specific needs!

19 of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thank you, this review has been flagged. Undo